Tiny Babywearin’ Mamas

Here They Reside, My Tiny Babywearin’ Mamas.

They give me so much inspiration on the edge of my wrap shelf by my computer.  I spend a ton of time on the computer.  Writing essays, writing classes, blogging, business stuff, website upkeep, the list goes on. Some are old and some are new, some have links to where they can be purchased below on ETSY custom made to look like you-ish 🙂  Hope you enjoy them as much as I do!  These little mamas remind me how important babywearing is to our Planet, and to keep writing, and wrapping, so that wearing can make a big comeback in our country’s culture, for the sake of families everywhere.

This monster mama carries her baby on her back in a little pocket like a kangaroo. She was my first babywearing mama, and was made by a sweet doula named Diana, who helped me prepare for Judah's Birth. She is goofy like me and a gentle monster by nature 🙂

This sweet mama is an antique. I am not 100% sure of her origin but I love her. She is tall and proud and wears her baby high so he can see over her shoulder. 🙂 Baby is sleeping so peacefully.

The mama in the back was my second ever mama, she was a gift from my own mother. 🙂 She hails from south africa and her baby is removable in a tiny little front pocket. The Wooden Mama comes from a little Etsy shop Here: http://www.etsy.com/listing/65546280/wooden-toy-cozy-mama-baby-waldorf-toy?ref=sr_gallery_1&ga_search_submit=&ga_search_query=mama+baby+wood&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_ship_to=US&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_facet=handmade it arrived quickly and it is smooth and perfect.

These sweet little mamas were Hand felted and collected by me from ETSY. The mama on the Left is a First Nations Mama from Northern Canada. She remindes me of my mentor up in Edmonton and I look to her for strength. The Beautiful mama with the flower in her hair is wearing her toddler and holding her baby. She reminds me of my baby days and the challenges of having multiple small children.

Her shop is here:  http://www.etsy.com/shop/asherjasper

I am collecting many more of her sweet felted babywearing mamas. 🙂 The Koala is next on my list 🙂

Which brings me to my animal kingdom little mamas:

I know the Penguin isn't "wearing" technically, but he's parenting, and I love him. These are all little german toy figures 🙂 I picked up at our local shop Mudpuddles, in Kerrytown.

Last but not Least is this Tiny Babywearin' Mama, The Sacagawea Dollar Coin from the year 2000. I keep one up here with my collection, and Kyle loves to ask for them at the bank. They should still be easy to find everywhere in the US.

I’ve got a wonderful new one on the way from http://www.wrapscrapcreations.etsy.com .  It’s actually made from a wrap!

I  wanted to  show you all another way that I have been inspired by babywearing all over the world by sharing my little sub collection to you.  In addition to being mine,  I share these little toys with my children. In the very first picture in the post, the dolls are all lined up in front of a small stack of “wraps” that my children use the wear their dolls.  (The pink and purple one is pesci pazi for those interested)

These little toys, both the dolls and the toy carriers, serve as a way to pass our values on to our children.  Children who playwear their dolls and play with wearing toys can practice for their future as parents, with loving, close, pretend family play 🙂

Pass on the Babywearing Love, and we create a more Peaceful Planet.

My Love Goes Out To Babies Everywhere This Morning!  May The World Become A Better Place As You Grow Up!

One thought on “Tiny Babywearin’ Mamas

Leave a Reply

