How We’re Celebrating Our Twins’ 3rd Birthday When One of Our Birthday Boys Is No Longer Here

Please enjoy this wonderful post below from my dear client and friend. The link at the bottom of the article on what not to say to bereaved parents is extremely helpful for those who are encountering an experience with a friend or family members loss of a child.

You can read all about the Canvasser Family Babywearing Journey in the links to my previous posts below, but for now, please scroll down and enjoy Jennifer’s wise words.

Mom went first, in Wrapsody Jandrea. We all agreed that she felt secure and relaxed (as much as was possible) and the suggestion of daddy wanting to try was put off to later.  I have noticed sometimes in my work with parents of preemies, that Babywearing can be a great way to help give the parents, often for the first time, the feeling and experience that they expected parenting to bring to them.  A taste of having things be "normal" or as they expected, even for just a while.

Mom went first, in Wrapsody Jandrea. We all agreed that she felt secure and relaxed (as much as was possible) and the suggestion of daddy wanting to try was put off to later. I have noticed sometimes in my work with parents of preemies, that Babywearing can be a great way to help give the parents, often for the first time, the feeling and experience that they expected parenting to bring to them. A taste of having things be “normal” or as they expected, even for just a while.

you can read about the canvassers babywearing journey in my previous posts:

https://closeathandbaby.wordpress.com/2012/04/28/sometimes-in-rising-to-meet-a-challenge-we-find-deeper-love-than-ever-before/

https://closeathandbaby.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/look-whos-home/

https://closeathandbaby.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/today-i-celebrate-life-micahs-rainbow/

MicahSmiles

My twin boys, Micah and Zachary, have their 3rd birthday coming up, and like most moms, I’m thinking about what kind of cake to bake and how to celebrate their special day. But, unlike most moms, Go BlueI’ll be celebrating my twins’ birthday with only one of my twins in my arms because the other twin only lives in my heart.

A month before Micah and Zachary’s first birthday, Micah passed away from complications of necrotizing enterocolitis. The loss of Micah is devastating. A piece of myself died with my son. Still, I am incredibly blessed because I have beautiful Zachary, a superman husband, a rockstar mom, and an amazingly supportive community.

As any parent can imagine, I was a disaster in the days, weeks and months after Micah’s passing. I had to relearn how to eat, breathe and sleep without Micah. Once I could handle these basic tasks of living…

View original post 655 more words

One thought on “How We’re Celebrating Our Twins’ 3rd Birthday When One of Our Birthday Boys Is No Longer Here

Leave a Reply

