Team Annette

Babywearing is a ray of sunshine in the hard world of becoming a parent.  Over the last 6 years of teaching and sharing babywearing I have met many families in a challenging time of their lives.  Most are having a baby and they need help either carrying it from one place to another, helping it fall asleep, or helping it stop crying.  The Stefaniak family came into my life like any other, beautiful family, beautiful children, and a happy life.

SONY DSC

A few months ago Annette was diagnosed with stage 4 breast cancer and our little community was rocked by the notion that our friend was going to have to leave her children, her husband, and her wonderful life behind.  How are we going to say goodbye to her and honor her?

The Stefaniak Family

The Stefaniak Family

I Started folding these little origami wishing stars right around the time Annette started getting really sick.  It was so comforting for me, and when I gave them to others, I really saw how magical they were.

I Started folding these little origami wishing stars right around the time Annette started getting really sick. It was so comforting for me, and when I gave them to others, I really saw how magical they were.

Annette's friends family and community rally around her and her family in an effort to support them an understand what was happening to our friend

Annette’s friends, family, and community rally around her and her family in an effort to support them an understand what was happening to our friend.  There was massive attendance at a spaghetti dinner to raise money for her family.

IMG_0458

I went to the spaghetti dinner to support my friend, as well as in search of understanding of what was happening to my friend, but I learned a very important life lesson. There is no understanding Cancer.

Eventually I had to choose which wrap to wrap myself in for comfort at her remembrance, and I chose a pristine 1972 blue indio.  Because I know Annette would have OOooohed  and Ahhed.

Eventually I had to choose which wrap to wrap myself in for comfort at her remembrance, and I chose a pristine 1972 blue indio. Because I know Annette would have OOooohed and Ahhed.

Ultimately, we all just surround each other with love.  It's all we can do.

Ultimately, we all just surround each other with love. It’s all we can do.

The Wishing Stars were beloved by the children at the wake.  Wishing Mom, and Husband and Babies and Friends of Annette endless comfort, although I know it will take time to feel it.

The Wishing Stars were beloved by the children at the wake. Wishing Mom, and Husband and Babies and Friends of Annette endless comfort, although I know it will take time to feel it.

Thank You Annette, for always being a light at our babywearing meetings and a wonderful mother and wife and friend.

Thank You Annette, for always being a light at our babywearing meetings and a wonderful mother and wife and friend.

Leave a Reply

