Babywearing with WIC to improve public health outcomes for babies and mamas!!

Back in the late winter I visited and talked at a Macomb county Michigan Wic Breastfeeding meeting and had a blast.  Having the right baby carrier can help you get around, manage multiple children, and breastfeed longer, and more discreetly in public.  We had such success!!

Wrapsody Kristen is a great wrap for learning to wrap for the first time.  It also takes the tiny shape perfectly of this little not quite 7 lb twin girl :)

Wrapsody Kristen is a great wrap for learning to wrap for the first time. It also takes the tiny shape perfectly of this little not quite 7 lb twin girl 🙂

IMG_2245

Learning to wrap was on everyones mind at this meeting. wrapping on the front and back 🙂 We talked about coverign the child from knee pit to shoulder blader and tightening and back loading techniques.

IMG_2247

This first time back rucksack carry was amazing and both mom and babe were so happy. THis wrap is my special rastamama girasol.

The scootababy hip carrier is my favorite least known carrier ever.  it holds your little one front or back, but especially on the hip, which is amazing and so useful for housework and errands.

The scootababy hip carrier is my favorite least known carrier ever. it holds your little one front or back, but especially on the hip, which is amazing and so useful for housework and errands.

i grab a baby snuggle whenever I can when I teach, and twins always makes for a great opportunity.

I grab a baby snuggle whenever I can when I teach, and twins always makes for a great opportunity.

The next week I went to a WIC conference up in traverse city to talk to the heads of the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services  as well as the WIC breastfeeding and nutrition counselors about babywearing and its health benefits.

The next week I went to a WIC conference up in traverse city to talk to the heads of the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services as well as the WIC breastfeeding and nutrition counselors about babywearing and its health benefits.  THere were lots of people there!!

IMG_2344

This beautiful Breastfeeding counselor did her first double hammock back wrap carry with my instruction and her baby took the cutest nap!!

The Wic employees are some of the most loving and enthusiastic people I have ever had the joy to spend the weekend with.

The Wic employees are some of the most loving and enthusiastic people I have ever had the joy to spend the weekend with.

I even got to grab a snuggle myself.

I even got to grab a snuggle myself.

My goal is to get the WIC organization to distribute a baby carrier as one of the benefits for their families.  I believe that it will revolutionize the breastfeeding initiation and duration rates of this state with very little discussion or hubub.  People want to feel successful with their babies, and baby carriers, by my experience are the number one way to do that.

Check out my new page on facebook promoting our public heath goals!!!

https://www.facebook.com/babycarriersprovided?fref=ts

Leave a Reply

