United States Institute for Kangaroo Care Certification Course in Ohio

In addition to all of this traveling and all of these teaching events, I also registered myself at the USIKC to become a certified kangaroo care practitioner.  It is a course I have had my eye on for 2 years.  Professional development and a well rounded and updated knowledge base have been key to keeping me full of ideas about how to be an effective educator.


There was a small vending hall outside the lecture hall where I made some friends from a kangaroo wrap and shirt company called Vija Designs.

With the exception of one speaker, the instructors in the course were interesting and the information was useful.  The skills courses were even more useful and was truly my favorite part of the course.


I am so proud to have these letters behind my name, and I have been energized and my eyes have been opened to the possibilities that hospital kangaroo care programs could have on infant/parent health, and breastfeeding.

Leave a Reply

